Oklahoma v. Texas,
259 U.S. 565 (1922)

Annotate this Case
  • Syllabus  | 
  • Case

U.S. Supreme Court

Oklahoma v. Texas, 259 U.S. 565 (1922)

Oklahoma v. Texas

No. 20, Original

Partial decree entered June 5, 1922

259 U.S. 565


Red River is not a navigable stream in Oklahoma; the state acquired no title to the part of the river bed within her borders by virtue of her admission into the Union; her right, title and interest in that

Page 259 U. S. 566

part are only such as are incidental to her ownership of lands on the northerly bank.

The federal mining laws have never applied to the parts of the river bed lying within and south of the Indian pasture reserve formerly called the Big Pasture.

Certain petitions of intervention claiming under lease from Oklahoma, or based on locations made under the mining laws, are dismissed.

Disclaimer: Official Supreme Court case law is only found in the print version of the United States Reports. Justia case law is provided for general informational purposes only, and may not reflect current legal developments, verdicts or settlements. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or information linked to from this site. Please check official sources.