CAMBERLING v. MCCALL, 2 U.S. 280 (1797)
U.S. Supreme Court
CAMBERLING v. MCCALL, 2 U.S. 280 (1797)2 U.S. 280 (Dall.)
Camberling
v.
M'Call
Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
December Term, 1797
This was an action on the case, on a Policy of Insurance dated the 28th of October 1786, on the schooner John, Nathaniel Simmons master, on a voyage from Bath, or Washington, in North Carolina, to the Island of St. Thomas. It was a valued policy, in which the Plaintiff's moiety of the Schooner was valued at L 300; and the action was brought for a total loss.
The cause was first tried by a special Jury in September Term 1796, when a general verdict was found for the Plaintiff, with 289 dollars and 84 cents damages; but, in consequence of an agreement between the counsel, there was a second trial in March term 1797, when the jury found a special verdict, in these terms.
- 'And now at March term A. D. 1797, to wit on the twenty-fourth
of the said month, a jury to wit, &c. being duly impanelled,
tried, sworn and affirmed, respectively, to try the issues joined
between the parties aforesaid, on their oaths and affirmations
aforesaid, say, that on the 28th October 1786 the plaintiff then
and ever since resided in the state of North Carolina, was owner of
one half of the schooner in the declaration mentioned, her tackle,
apparel and furniture, of the value of three hundred pounds, lawful
money of Pennsylvania, and on
the same day caused the same to be insured (prout policy) which on the day and year aforesaid, at the County aforesaid, for the consideration or premium therein mentioned, was underwritten by the defendant, for the sum of one hundred pounds, lawful money, for the voyage, in the said policy mentioned; that the said schooner, on or about the ninth day of November 1786, was cleared out, and failed on the voyage in the policy mentioned, and to the knowledge of the said Jurors, has never since been heard of; from whence, the Jury presume that the said vessel and cargo, were sunk, and totally lost; that some time in the year 1787, the captain and seamen, who failed in said schooner, on the voyage aforesaid, were in the State of Virginia, and notice thereof was afterwards, and before the date of the plaintiff's letter, of the first of November 1792, given to the plaintiff; but at what particular time, the Jurors know not; that the plaintiff did not give any notice thereof, or of the supposed loss of the said schooner, to the defendant until the first day of November 1792, when the plaintiff informed the defendant by letter, that the said schooner had sailed about the ninth of November 1786, on the voyage in the policy mentioned, and that he had not since seen nor heard from the said captain, nor received any part of the property in the vessel or cargo, nor had any person on his behalf; which information the Jury find to be true; and the said Jurors further find, that the plaintiff did not abandon to the defendant, and to the other underwriters, on the said policy, or to either of them, his property in the said schooner, or any part thereof, before the bringing of the said action; nor has he since abandoned the same; nor was any other proof made of the said loss, previously to the bringing of the said action, than the information given as aforesaid, by the plaintiff to the defendant. And the Jurors aforesaid, further find, that John Kaighn one of the partners of Kaighn and Attmore, who effected the said insurance, as agent of the plaintiff, has ever since resided in the City of Philadelphia, and had, until the present action was brought, the policy aforesaid in his possession; and that the defendant has ever since the date of the said policy resided in the City of Philadelphia. If upon these facts the law be with the plaintiff, they find for the plaintiff, and assess damages to the amount of ninety-eight pounds, with interest from December 1, 1794, amounting in the whole to L. with fix pence costs; but if the law be with the defendant, they find for the defendant.'
The arguments before the Jury on the trials, and before the Court on the special verdict, were, in substance, as follow.
For the plaintiff, M. Levy insisted, that every fact, which
could be necessary to entitle his client to recover, was found by
[2 U.S. 280,
282]
U.S. Supreme Court
CAMBERLING v. MCCALL, 2 U.S. 280 (1797) 2 U.S. 280 (Dall.) Camberlingv.
M'Call Supreme Court of Pennsylvania December Term, 1797 This was an action on the case, on a Policy of Insurance dated the 28th of October 1786, on the schooner John, Nathaniel Simmons master, on a voyage from Bath, or Washington, in North Carolina, to the Island of St. Thomas. It was a valued policy, in which the Plaintiff's moiety of the Schooner was valued at L 300; and the action was brought for a total loss. The cause was first tried by a special Jury in September Term 1796, when a general verdict was found for the Plaintiff, with 289 dollars and 84 cents damages; but, in consequence of an agreement between the counsel, there was a second trial in March term 1797, when the jury found a special verdict, in these terms.
- 'And now at March term A. D. 1797, to wit on the twenty-fourth
of the said month, a jury to wit, &c. being duly impanelled,
tried, sworn and affirmed, respectively, to try the issues joined
between the parties aforesaid, on their oaths and affirmations
aforesaid, say, that on the 28th October 1786 the plaintiff then
and ever since resided in the state of North Carolina, was owner of
one half of the schooner in the declaration mentioned, her tackle,
apparel and furniture, of the value of three hundred pounds, lawful
money of Pennsylvania, and on
Page 2 U.S.
280, 281
the same day caused the same to be insured (prout policy) which
on the day and year aforesaid, at the County aforesaid, for the
consideration or premium therein mentioned, was underwritten by the
defendant, for the sum of one hundred pounds, lawful money, for the
voyage, in the said policy mentioned; that the said schooner, on or
about the ninth day of November 1786, was cleared out, and failed
on the voyage in the policy mentioned, and to the knowledge of the
said Jurors, has never since been heard of; from whence, the Jury
presume that the said vessel and cargo, were sunk, and totally
lost; that some time in the year 1787, the captain and seamen, who
failed in said schooner, on the voyage aforesaid, were in the State
of Virginia, and notice thereof was afterwards, and before the date
of the plaintiff's letter, of the first of November 1792, given to
the plaintiff; but at what particular time, the Jurors know not;
that the plaintiff did not give any notice thereof, or of the
supposed loss of the said schooner, to the defendant until the
first day of November 1792, when the plaintiff informed the
defendant by letter, that the said schooner had sailed about the
ninth of November 1786, on the voyage in the policy mentioned, and
that he had not since seen nor heard from the said captain, nor
received any part of the property in the vessel or cargo, nor had
any person on his behalf; which information the Jury find to be
true; and the said Jurors further find, that the plaintiff did not
abandon to the defendant, and to the other underwriters, on the
said policy, or to either of them, his property in the said
schooner, or any part thereof, before the bringing of the said
action; nor has he since abandoned the same; nor was any other
proof made of the said loss, previously to the bringing of the said
action, than the information given as aforesaid, by the plaintiff
to the defendant. And the Jurors aforesaid, further find, that John
Kaighn one of the partners of Kaighn and Attmore, who effected the
said insurance, as agent of the plaintiff, has ever since resided
in the City of Philadelphia, and had, until the present action was
brought, the policy aforesaid in his possession; and that the
defendant has ever since the date of the said policy resided in the
City of Philadelphia. If upon these facts the law be with the
plaintiff, they find for the plaintiff, and assess damages to the
amount of ninety-eight pounds, with interest from December 1, 1794,
amounting in the whole to L. with fix pence costs; but if the law
be with the defendant, they find for the defendant.'
After the second trial, and argument on the special verdict, The Court seemed to be of opinion, 'that the plaintiff could not recover; because, he had not made proof of the loss, according to the terms of the policy, three months previously to the commencement of the action.' No opinion was then, however, expressed on the second objection made by the defendant's counsel; but the Court asked, whether he would wave the objection to the time of commencing the action, that the cause might be decided on its merits? And he refused to comply. Footnotes [Footnote *] The Jury, after being out some time, returned to the Bar, and declared they could not agree, on account of the lapse of time, and expressed a desire to examine Mr. Kaighn (who had effected the insurance as agent) relative to the character and conduct of the plaintiff. It thereupon appeared, that the witness had not heard from the plaintiff from 1786 till 1792, when he desired that the policy might be given to Mr. Rose to be recovered; and that, sometime before, in a conversation with the witness's partner, the plaintiff had said, as a reason for not applying to the underwriters, 'that he must obtain the captain's protest and vouchers of the loss, before he could recover on the policy.' It, also, appeared, that the plaintiff was a man of irreproachable character. The Jury, having received this further satisfaction, soon delivered a verdict for the plaintiff.